WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL THIS WEEK: Week 2

Posted: September 20, 2011 in NFL FOOTBALL
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

WEEK 2

Last week was the start of the 2011 NFL Season, so I was deliberately thorough
when it came to WHAT I LEARNED from each game. This week didn’t prove to change too many of my opinions about individual players, but there are a few that I
have to give credit, or discredit, too. Other than those few players, Week 2 was more about a collective theme that I saw in several games….DETERMINATION. There was either a strong determination to win, or a LACK THEREOF.

(BEWARE. I am sure that from week to week I will be “flip-flopping” more than a politician, based on players and teams proving my praise and criticisms wrong. But hey, if the professional “experts” can flip-flop and make a big salary for it, I definitely should be able to do it for FREE.)

I will move from division to division to make sure I stay organized.

AFC NORTH (PITTSBURG STEELERS, BALTIMORE RAVENS, CLEVELAND BROWNS, CINCINATTI BENGALS)

What I think I learned……

  • Steelers were definitely the “favorite” in their match-up against the Seahawks, but they were DETERMINED to show that their Week 1 performance would not be an indication of the rest of their season
  • The Baltimore Ravens have trained themselves to go “ALL OUT” for a game against their rival Steelers, but don’t show the same DETERMINATION against mediocre teams
  • Peyton Hillis is not satisfied with just being a “ONE-SEASON WONDER”

AFC EAST (NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS, NEW YORK JETS, BUFFALO BILLS, MIAMI DOLPHINS)

What I think I learned……

  • Tom Brady could post 50+ TD’s every, single season…..if he wanted to
  • The Jets were DETERMINED to show that they know how to play football in the 1st half of a game
  • Ryan Fitzpatrick is the most UNDERRATED QB in the NFL…..but apparently he is DETERMINED to change that this year. His Bills were DETERMINED not to lose that game

AFC SOUTH (INDIANAPOLIS COLTS, HOUSTON TEXANS, JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS, TENNESSEE TITANS)

What I think I learned……

  • Peyton Manning made the Colts look GREAT. They have never decided to support him with a strong runningback, and their defense is built to play with a lead. A RECIPE FOR FAILURE.
  • Keeping ADRIAN PETERSON over ARIAN FOSTER as my Fantasy Football “KEEPER” was a brilliant move
  • The last-minute moves made by the Jacksonville Jaguars before the start of the season are starting to catch up with them

AFC WEST (SAN DIEGO CHARGERS, DENVER BRONCOS, OAKLAND RAIDERS, KANSAS CITY CHIEFS)

What I think I learned……

  • We’ve watched over the years how the San Diego Chargers have learned how to beat the Colts….now they need to learn how to beat the Patriots, because they are their “KRYPTONITE”
  • The Broncos fans are so “FICKLE”. So, I guess Orton is “the man” again
  • Kansas City’s offense looked great last year, but were definitely a “1-HIT WONDER”. Their season is over….even though it is only Week 2
  • On the surface, all the Raiders have done is fire coaches, lose big name players, and deal with drama. But it looks as if they have quietly formed a good team underneath the surface. They won Week 1, and were in complete control last week

NFC NORTH (GREEN BAY PACKERS, MINNESOTA VIKINGS, DETROIT LIONS, CHICAGO BEARS)

What I think I learned……

  • Adrian Peterson is still the most DANGEROUS “WORK HORSE” at the runningback position, but he still lacks a passing game to compliment him
  • The Detroit Lions are the TRUTH. And “MEGATRON” is unstoppable
  • All Green Bay knows how to do is win

NFC EAST (NEW YORK GIANTS, DALLAS COWBOYS, WASHINGTON REDSKINS, PHILADELPHIA EAGLES)

What I think I learned……

  • Tony Romo was DETERMINED to prove that he can be a tough, smart, leader at the end of the game. (And for now he has erased the bad end of game memories)
  • The Cowboys were DETERMINED not to go down 0-2 in the toughest Division in football
  • I repeat my comments from last week…..the REDSKINS are FOR REAL this year
  • The Giants still aren’t clicking, but they did what they were supposed to do, against a team that is even more injured than they are
  • The Eagles have weapons all over the field, no matter who is out or injured. BUT they better drop the “DREAM TEAM” title and realize that a ring will have to be EARNED

NFC SOUTH (NEW ORLEANS SAINTS, ATLANTA FALCONS, TAMPA BAY BUCCANEERS, CAROLINA PANTHERS)

What I think I learned……

  • Atlanta knew that a lose in Vick’s Atlanta homecoming would be talked about for the rest of the week. They were DETERMINED to hit him in the mouth, and not let that happen
  • Tampa Bay was DETERMINED not to go down 0-2 in the South Division. (Being a fan, when they were down in the 4th, it just felt like going 0-2 meant playoff hopes were over)
  • Cam Newton is DETERMINED to show us that he is one of the “BIG DOGS” at QB right now. It’s not all about winning and losing. Sometimes it’s how you lose. And they are a dangerous 0-2 team. In the words of Aaron Rodgers….better to play them now, rather than later

NFC WEST (SAN FRANCISCO 49ERS, ST. LOUIS RAMS, SEATTLE SEAHAWKS, ARIZONA CARDINALS)

What I think I learned……

  • This is still the weakest Division in the NFL
  • The Seahawks saw a bright future in Tavaris Jackson that no other team saw…. and we still don’t see it
  • Sydney Rice should’ve stayed in Minnesota
  • Other than the Rams playing on Monday Night Football, you didn’t notice anything even note-worthy out of this division

(Leave your comments by clicking on the comment bubble in the top right corner)

Comments
  1. […] b&#1091 Yahoo! An&#1109w&#1077r&#1109 Mouse here forRelated LinksRelated LinksWHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL THIS WEEK: Week 2Download a free plugin for wordpress – your websites will adore you. Posted in Questions Tags: […]

Leave a Reply

