WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL THIS WEEK: Week 3

Posted: September 29, 2011 in NFL FOOTBALL
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Week 3

 

In last week’s post I stated that Week 2 in the NFL didn’t do much to change my overall opinion of any players or teams. Well, Week 3 changed EVERYTHING. The primary thing I learned this week is that this season is going to be just as exciting and dramatic as the last two; and that is absolutely PERFECT for the NFL. I learned that there was an added clause in the new NFL Collective Bargaining Agreement that stated that “NO DEFENSE COULD PLAY A COMPLETE GAME”. Apparently, the league wants more excitement, which comes from more SCORING. (that really isn’t a clause in the CBA, but given the first 3 weeks of games, it seems like it is)

I will reiterate my usual warning of possibly becoming a “flip-flopper” from week to week, but I don’t think I’ve done so thus far. But given some of the games I watched this past weekend…..I feel like I’ve switched sides several times……and I’m just very CONFUSED right now.

I will go from division to division to help keep my opinions on track

 AFC NORTH (BALTIMORE RAVENS, PITTSBURGH STEELERS, CLEVELAND BROWNS, CINCINATTI BENGALS)

 What I think I learned….

  • The Ravens actually DO know how to bring their “A” game against a team other than the Steelers
  • First let me say that a WIN is a WIN. But after the Steelers trailed, and aloud
    the Colts’ offense to look partially decent on Sunday, maybe it’s time to agree that their defense is getting OLD
  • Week after week, the Browns and Bengals just never seem to alter my thinking……BUT Colt McCoy sure is growing into his “big boy” QB shoes

AFC EAST (NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS, NEW YORK JETS, BUFFALO BILLS, MIAMI DOLPHINS)

 What I think I learned….

  • As I stated 2 weeks ago, Ryan Fitzpatrick is the most underrated QB in the league, and he is determined to completely change those doubters this year. What were the Vegas odds that Buffalo would be on top of the AFC East…..EVER?
  • The Jets are very intriguing because they have an OUT-SPOKEN Coach in Rex
    Ryan. He makes bold GARUANTEES, and is great for the media, but his team
    doesn’t play like a top NFL team
  • I already knew New England had some issues on “D”, but we also found out that you actually can penetrate Tom Brady’s armor. (maybe I should rephrase that?)

AFC SOUTH (HOUSTON TEXANS, JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS, TENNESSEE
TITANS, INDIANAPOLIS COLTS)

What I think I learned….

  • No matter how “lack-luster” the Colts are without Manning, Freeney and Mathis still prove that they are MONSTERS to contend with.
  • After years of calling Houston the team on the verge of being great, they are
    finally there. They may have lost, but it was the 2nd best losing effort I’ve seen this season (1st was New Orlean’s loss to Green Bay)
  • The other 2 teams in this division have great Running backs, with no one
    supporting them

AFC WEST (OAKLAND RAIDERS, SAN DIEGO CHARGERS, DENVER BRONCOS, KANSAS CITY CHIEFS)

What I think I learned….

  • I repeat my statement from last week: The Raiders did nothing in the off-season, except watch big names go out the door. And yet, on game day, they continue to compete like studs

NFC NORTH (GREEN BAY PACKERS, DETROIT LIONS, CHICAGO BEARS, MINNESOTA VIKINGS)

What I think I learned….

  • Green Bay is HIGH-POWERED, LOADED, and DANGEROUS all-around, and yet, teams are still scoring a lot of points on them. They had a slug-fest with the Saints, but I can’t wait to see them play their NEXT strong, well-rounded
    team on the schedule.
  • The Lions are “THERE”. If you don’t know what that means, then you haven’t
    been a football fan long enough. Also, Calvin Johnson just moved up on my WR List from #2 to #1. (I have to switch him and Andre Johnson (Texans) for the time being)
  • The Chicago Bears have moments of brilliance in every game…..just never for a
    full game
  • Minnesota has good enough pieces to compete. (who can argue with a 17-0 and 20-0 lead) But 3 major weaknesses can explain their struggles: COACHING,  A LACK OF PLAY CALLS FOR ADRIAN PETERSON, and A FADED DONAVAN McNABB

NFC EAST (DALLAS COWBOYS, WASHINGTON REDSKINS, NEW YOURK GIANTS, PHILADELPHIA EAGLES)

What I think I learned….

  • Eli is trying to silence all the criticism from the “Tom Brady” comment. The Giants still have the goods on offense and defense to beat any team
  • Tony Romo is trying to silence all the criticism from the past 5 seasons. (he played and managed like a BEAST Monday night)
  • Philly can, and probably will, get back on top. But they are the new “Washington Redskins” of the East. They tried to go out and buy a MILLION-DOLLAR TEAM. How’s that working out for them?
  • The Redskins are primed for greatness this year. As long as they can teach Deangelo Hall how to DEFEND as well as he TALKS

NFC SOUTH (NEW ORLEANS SAINTS, ATLANTA FALCONS, TAMPA BAY BUCCANEERS, CAROLINA PANTHERS)

What I think I learned….

  • Remember what I said about Green Bay earlier? Apply the same to the Saints. They are definitely a top team, but they are giving up a lot of points
  • Tampa Bay likes being that team with zero “big name” studs…..that you better not sleep on
  • Atlanta likes to win the games that, on paper, they shouldn’t win……and lose the games that, on paper, they should win (that one even confused me, and I
    wrote it)
  • The only thing stopping Cam Newton’s ridiculous rookie production is the WEATHER

NFC WEST (SAN FRANSISCO 49ERS, SEATTLE SEAHAWKS, ARIZONA CARDINALS, ST. LOUIS RAMS)

What I think I learned….

  • Larry Fitzgerald can still embarrass CB’s like no other
  • Nothing more. I promise that I don’t just get tired of writing, and always cut the NFC WEST short. I just honestly have nothing to say about this division from weak to weak (I misspelled “WEEK” intentionally)

 

(Leave your comments by using the field at the bottom of this post)

Leave a Reply

