NFL PICKS: WEEK 7

Posted: October 22, 2011 in NFL FOOTBALL
Tags: , , , , , ,

This NFL season continues to amaze me from week to week. I went into last week knowing that I faced some tough picks. I went 8-5 for the week, but it felt like 5-8. As I stated in my “BYE-BYE”, “BYE” WEEK ADVANTAGE post, I thought some teams would look a lot better coming off a full week of rest. I was wrong. I am also realizing that I am having a hard time retaining the lessons that I learned from previous weeks. If any of my old school teachers are reading this, they are saying, “DUH! YOU’VE ALWAYS HAD THAT PROBLEM!” After Week 5, I wrote that I learned the meaning of the word “INCONSISTENCY”. I wish I would’ve remembered that a few days later when I made my picks for Week 6, because the same problem consisted. There are only 2 teams who have played CONSISTENT ball throughout the first 6 weeks of the season: GREE BAY and DETRIOT (they lost a hard-fought game, to a good team. It wasn’t due to uncharacteristic mistakes).There are other teams who have played FAIRLY CONSISTENT, give or take a game (props to the Monday Night Countdown Crew): NEW ENGLAND (they lost to a good Bills team, but 4 INT’s by Brady….COME ON MAAAN), BALTIMORE (demolish your division rivals one week, lose to the Titans the next….COME ON MAAAN), SAN FRANCISCO (has looked very strong this year, but to blow a 14-0 lead against the shaky Cowboys…..CIOME ON MAAAN), SAN DIEGO (I know their only loss was to the Patriots, but yielding 4 turnovers to the 32nd ranked defense….COME ON MAAAN), TAMPA BAY (I can’t criticize them for the loss to Detroit, but the beating they took from San Fran….COME ON MAAAN), and NEW ORLEANS (they made up for early mistakes in the game against the Packers, but committing 4 turnovers and going down 20-7 against the Buccs….COME ON MAAAN)

So, I said all that to say that this week I’m making my picks solely on the basis of who has been CONSISTENT. As of last week, I am 59-31 for the season.

Here are my Week 7 Picks:

CHARGERS vs JETS

My Pick: JETS

(I know, I know….I already broke my rule. I just have a hunch about this one)

BEARS vs BUCCANEERS

My Pick: BUCCANEERS

(I am back and forth with this pick, but I have gone against my boys every time I have
been “undecided”, and they pull off the big win. I also have to point out that every time I have easily picked them in a big game (against the Lions and 49ers) they have lost. LOL)

REDSKINS vs PANTHERS

My Pick: REDSKINS

(But I don’t feel good about this pick)

FALCONS vs LIONS

My Pick: LIONS

(But…in the words of the B-E-P…”I GOT A FEELIN”)

SEAHAWKS vs BROWNS

My Pick: BROWNS

BRONCOS vs DOLPHINS

My Pick: DOLPHINS

TEXANS vs TITANS

My Pick: TEXANS

CHIEFS vs RAIDERS

My Pick: RAIDERS

STEELERS vs CARDINALS

My Pick: STEELERS

PACKERS vs VIKINGS

My Pick: PACKERS

RAMS vs COWBOYS

My Pick: COWBOYS

COLTS vs SAINTS

My Pick: SAINTS

RAVENS vs JAGUARS

My Pick: RAVENS

Comments
  1. slickzmoney says:

    I got killed last week too but am having a good start with 65. Always looking for more input. This week I’ll be picking 3 “western” teams playing east on the road- S.D., Denver, Houston and that makes me nervous. The Bucs pick I like although no team has been harder for me to read in the last two years than the Bears. Skins game I’m still undecided. That D is good.

    • I’m with you on the Bears. CONSISTENCY. Sometimes they go out and Cutler spends the entire game scratching his head. Other times he throws 4 TDs. You just never know. This season has been very UNPREDICTABLE, which makes it good.

Leave a Reply

