20120110-111837.jpg
“ROLL TIDE!!!”

PLAYOFFS? PLAYOFFS? ARE WE REALLY TALKING ABOUT PLAYOFFS? That’s right, I’m talking about PLAYOFFS…..AGAIN! As we wrap up the 2011-12 NCAA Football season, I have to give my opinion on what has occurred over the final months. This will be short and sweet. Before I express any criticism of the way this year played out, I must first give full credit and congrats to the ALABAMA CRIMSON TIDE for their performance in the National Championship game. After a tough, grind-it-out 9-6 lose to the LSU Tigers during then season, I expected a closer game. But make no mistake about it, ‘BAMA earned and deserved every bit of the enjoyment that comes with hoisting that crystal football.

 

Now that I’ve given the Champs their due diligence, let me repeat what I, and 95% of college football fans, have been saying: COLLEGE FOOTBALL NEEDS A PLAYOFF SYSTEM. Don’t get me wrong, the best two teams in the country played each other in the Championship, but that is beside the point. Many will argue that the point of the current BCS system is to make sure the two best teams are matched up in the “big game”, but I disagree with this thinking. Every other sport DOES NOT have a playoff system in order to make sure the two best teams play in the championship, but rather to make teams EARN their way to the championship. So again, while I do think the two best teams were represented in this 2011 season (as opposed to many seasons before it), I also have a hard time saying that Alabama earned their way in.

 

I understand this is an opinionated argument. Here’s my beef with the way things played out. LSU defeated Alabama during the season, and remained #1 from that point on. Their “reward” for that victory came at the end of the season, when they had to play in the SEC Championship. An extra game. In the same fashion, Oklahoma State was ranked #3, and was “rewarded” with having to play in the Big 12 Championship. An extra game.(notice I keep sarcastically stressing “REWARD”, because to take on extra risk doesn’t seem like much of a reward) So basically, while the #1 (LSU) and #3 (OKST) teams in the country were taking all the risks and putting their Championship chances on the line, the #2 (BAMA) team in the country was sitting at home, with a “golden ticket” to the Championship game. Am I the only one who has a problem with this? WE NEED A PLAYOFF SYSTEM!

 

I won’t get into the details of exactly how a playoff system would work, because in Part 1 of my argument (“PLAYOFFS? PLAYOFFS? ARE WE REALLY TALKING ABOUT PLAYOFFS?”) I already addressed how they could have a playoff between the top 8 teams in the country, and still honor all the major Bowl games. To put the final word on my argument, I want to draw attention to the final College football rankings on Tuesday, January 10th, 2012, the day after the Championship game. Someone on the ranking committee (either an Artificial Intelligence idiot, or a living, breathing idiot) actually gave LSU a vote to be the #1 team in the country! The day after losing 21-0 to the #2 team in the country! WHAT! WE NEED A PLAYOFF SYSTEM!

 

Comments
  1. JW says:

    I have a similar system for a playoff, although my plan calls for a 16-team playoff and a radical dismantling of the existing conferences. It’s a detailed idea, but I would enjoy knowing what you think of it.

    http://dubsism.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/if-you-needed-more-proof-we-need-to-rethink-a-college-football-playoff-jason-whitlock-said-something-i-agree-with-yeah-that-jason-whitlock/

Leave a Reply

