20120602-083856.jpg

Continuing on with what I started a week ago, in looking at what each College Conference has currently produced in the NBA. My first post discussed which Conference would have the better overall team. My answer, the ACC. My latest post went deeper, and began to look at which Conference produced the best players at a specific position. I started with the Point Guard position, and concluded that the PAC 12 had the best product in the NBA today. (You can check out my POINT GUARD post here.)

Next, I am looking for the best SHOOTING GUARDS.

It’s crazy how I actually grew up thinking the Shooting Guard was the elite position in basketball. From I child, I’ve witnessed the G.O.A.T, Michael Jordan with the Chicago Bulls, and then Kobe Bryant (Los Angeles Lakers) after him and presently, along with guards like Dwayne Wade of the Miami Heat. Witnessing all these eras of greatness, how can you not think the #2 position is the most important position on the hardwood. But when you actually look at the current NBA, you can’t even name 5 “ELITE” shooting guards.

This small factor made it very hard for me when I first went to the college ranks. Even with a grading curve, it was difficult. My grading curve being that I am ranking every, single NBA player when they were at the “PRIME” of their career; before Age or INJURY kicked in. Regardless, there isn’t a great deal of STAR POWER at the position.

I had to dig deep through every conference to find a winner, but when I finally did, I slapped myself in the forehead for taking so long.

My winner for the NBA-College Conference showdown at the Point Guard position is…..the BIG EAST. (Cincinnati, UConn, DePaul, Georgetown, Louisville, Marquette, Notre Dame, Pitt, Providence, Rutgers, St. John’s, Seton Hall, U of South Florida, Syracuse, Villanova, and West Virginia)

NBA SHOOTING GUARDS who played in the BIG EAST:

Dwayne Wade (Miami Heat) – Marquette

Ray Allen (Boston Celtics) – UConn

Randy Foye (Los Angeles Clippers) – Villanova

Ben Gordon (Detroit Pistons) – UConn

Quentin Richardson (Orlando Magic) – DePaul

Kyle Lowry (Houston Rockets) – Villanova

Again, take all of these players into consideration when they were playing at the highest level in their career. (For D-Wade, that would be now) I cannot find any other Conference to compete with them.

Think you can find better? Send me your group of SHOOTING GUARDS from one Conference, and let’s put them head-to-head against mine.

And be on the look out for my next post, “NBA-College Showdown: FORWARDS”.

Comments
  1. […] week I gave you my bids for the College Conferences who produce the best POINT GUARDS and SHOOTING GUARDS in the NBA. You can check out my selections by clicking on the highlighted […]

Leave a Reply

