20120604-001627.jpg

Last week I gave you my bids for the College Conferences who produce the best POINT GUARDS and SHOOTING GUARDS in the NBA. You can check out my selections by clicking on the highlighted links.

I intended to go through each individual position, and choose a best group of players, but the Small and Power Forward positions are closely linked in the NBA. Many of the players at this position play both positions, depending on the opposing matchup. For this reason, I am looking at both positions at once. As I stated in my last post, the Shooting Guard was always thought to be that elite position on the court. But in today’s league, the majority of the talent is in the 3 and 4 spots in the starting lineup. With guys like LeBron James, Kevin Durant, Paul Pierce, and Carmelo Anthony all playing Forward, you have 4 out of 6 of the most prolific scorers in the game. Again, look at each NBA All Star team over the last few years. The Point Guard position usually has 2 or 3 on the roster. One or two Shooting Guards. Each team will have one true Center. And then each team will have 5 to 7 Forwards that play anywhere from the #3 to the #5 spots. It is the prime position on most rosters.

Which College Conference has produced the better group of FORWARDS into the NBA? I narrowed it down to three choices. That was the easy part. The hard part was picking a winner out of those three. My choices were between the Big 12, Big East, and ACC. If we were considering the current condition of each player, the choice would be easy. But throughout this entire process we have looked at each player at their best.

I was all set to list out the players from each conference to prove the difficulty of my choice, but after creating my first list, my decision was suddenly easy.

My winner for the NBA-College showdown at the POWER FORWARD position is…. the BIG 12

BIG 12 (Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas State, Oklahoma State, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska–, Oklahoma, Texas)

LAMARCUS ALDRIDGE – (Portland Trailblazers) – TEXAS
NICK COLLISON – (Oklahoma City Thunder) – KANSAS
KEVIN DURANT – (Oklahoma City Thunder) – TEXAS
DREW GOODEN – (Milwaukee Bucks) – KANSAS
BLAKE GRIFFIN – (Los Angeles Clippers) – OKLAHOMA
PAUL PIERCE – (Boston Celtics) – KANSAS
MICHAEL BEASLEY – (Minnesota Timberwolves) – KANSAS STATE

Based on my list, it’s more like Kansas and Texas against the other conferences. Once I started making my Big 12 list, I realized this conference is just too deep. The other two conferences had 3-5 noteworthy players, but still not enough to surpass in my opinion.

What do you think? Do you have a better group of players? Send me your list below.

Leave a Reply

