One of my most favorite segments to write last season was “WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL THIS WEEK“, because it gave me a chance to discuss the shocks and disappointments of each NFL week.

After witnessing this first round of NFL games, I’d like to title my very first 2012 weekly post in this series: THEY WEREN’T WHO WE THOUGHT THEY WERE.

WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL: Week 1

NFC NORTH
• I personally could not wait to see what the dynamic duo of Matthew Stafford and Calvin “Megatron” Johnson would do this season. Sunday’s dismal performance left a bad taste in my mouth.
• I knew the addition of WR Brandon Marshall would be a good thing, but not this good. They looked phenomenal.
•Before their week 1 game, I thought the reign of Adrian Peterson as an elite running back was over. I knew he would work hard to return, but I thought he would be a middle-of-the-pack player, after coming back from a season-ending knee injury. He’s not who we thought he was. He is not a man. He is a MACHINE.

NFC EAST
• After another impressive Playoff run, I just expected the Giants to look more impressive in their season opener. At home, against a division rival, minutes after one last 2011 Super Bowl salute….and they looked horrible.
• A win is a win. But the Eagles continue to play below expectations. If they are going to the Super Bowl this season, as many have predicted, they need to be able to dispose of the Cleveland Browns without last-minute heroics.
• We knew RGIII would be impressive, but a dominant win over the Saints, in New Orleans, was not in the foreseeable future. The entire team looked like a brand new organization.

NFC SOUTH
• If I were a betting man, I would’ve gladly bet against the Saints allowing a Rookie QB to come into their home, a day after finding out their teammates’ suspensions were lifted, and embarrass them. But that’s exactly what happened.
• I think we all expected to see the same “Superman Cam” that we witnessed last season….especially against the Buccaneers. I couldn’t see the game but as I repeatedly checked my mobile game cast, I expected to see the Cam Newton from last season. It just never happened.

NFC WEST
•(No comment, because they all are exactly WHO WE THINK THEY ARE. San Fran is very good, and the rest…not so much)

AFC NORTH
• I knew the Ravens would be good. They were my pre-season Super Bowl pick to represent the AFC. But that good??!!

AFC EAST
• After all the pre-season drama, and craziness, I expected the Jets to stink up the arena in Week 1. Instead, they scored more points and looked more efficient than any team in the Rex Ryan era. I guess they weren’t as bad as we thought they were.
• After their impressive start last season, I had very high expectations for Buffalo….and they are just not that team. And nor will they be.

AFC SOUTH
• Tennessee Titans RB Chris Johnson is not who we thought he was. He is going on three seasons of lack-luster performances. And it’s not his fault, because the Titans put a lot of miles on that ride a few years back.
• (the Houston Texans are exactly who we thought they were…a team who, if they can stay healthy, could easily be Super Bowl bound)

AFC WEST
• Peyton Manning is exactly who we used to think he was, and who we questioned if he still could be. After not playing all of last year, and the type of injury he had, I was skeptical. I also thought he made a bad choice in going to Denver. We see now who was wrong!
• (the rest of this division is exactly who we thought they were. Still waiting on someone to step up)

Comments
  1. […] WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL THIS WEEK: Week 1 (couchsportsexpert.com) […]

  2. […] WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL THIS WEEK: Week 1 (couchsportsexpert.com) […]

  3. […] still dealing with the aftershock of what you just witnessed, as I pointed out in my first “WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL THIS WEEK” of the 2012 season. Week 2 brings lower expectations for some teams, higher expectations for […]

  4. […] WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL THIS WEEK: Week 1 (couchsportsexpert.com) […]

Leave a Reply

