HE’S BAAAAAAACK!!!

Now that week 2 is here, I can feel fully engaged into this season. In week 1, you’re just happy that sanity has returned and football has restarted. Immediately after week 1, you’re still dealing with the aftershock of what you just witnessed, as I pointed out in my first “WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL THIS WEEK” of the 2012 season. Week 2 brings lower expectations for some teams, higher expectations for others, but also the reality that this is going to be another long, and crazy, season.

I went 14-2 in my picks for last week, and I admit that I could’ve easily gone 8-8. Some teams impressed, others depressed, and some have me completely scared to put my faith in them this week. Luckily, there aren’t alot of games this week that, on the surface, look like they could go either way. I hope I’m right in thinking that way, or I could have a tough record at the end of the week.

Here are my Week 2 Picks:

CHIEFS vs BILLS
My Pick: CHIEFS
Buffalo sustained some big injuries in week 1. May be too hard to overcome.

BROWNS vs BENGALS
My Pick: BENGALS
The Bengals are coming off an embarrassing division loss to start the season. And they know they didn’t play the way they did last season. They will be fully prepared to keep from being at the bottom of the AFC North barrell.

VIKINGS vs COLTS
My Pick: VIKINGS
This one is tough. Maybe I’m just glad to see my boy Adrian Peterson play the way he did. I think Colts QB Andrew Luck will be great….eventually. But I think he will have a few more weeks of growing pains.

SAINTS vs PANTHERS
My Pick: SAINTS
Both teams are coming off unexpected losses in week 1. I picked NOLA, but after what RGIII was able to do against them, and considering Cam Newton has a better arm, more speed, and better receiving options, this one could get messy. The question is if the Carolina “D” can match the same intensity that Washington showed.

TEXANS vs JAGUARS
My Pick: TEXANS
If this team can remain healthy, I’m putting them in my AFC Championship game.

RAIDERS vs DOLPHINS
My Pick: RAIDERS
Coming off a sloppy division loss, I think they put all of their offensive pieces together to have a great game

CARDINALS vs PATRIOTS
My Pick: PATRIOTS
Arizona has QB woes. They are not facing a top-ranked defense, but once Brady puts up a few TD’s, and it becomes a passing game…

BUCCANEERS vs GIANTS
My Pick: GIANTS
That hurt to type that. I am rooting for my Buccs all day. I will gladly take the loss on my personal record. I just think the Giants are out for blood this week, after last week.

RAVENS vs EAGLES
My Pick: RAVENS
“A tale of two birds”. Both preseason favorites to be in the year’s Super Bowl, these two teams are on opposite ends of the spectrum after last week. If Vick ties too hard this week, the Ravens won’t give him the chance to recover.

REDSKINS vs RAMS
My Pick: REDSKINS
I was thoroughly impressed by RGIII last week. After the effort the ‘Skins put together last week, I cannot imagine them having a mental breakdown this week. Big chance to go up 2-0 in the season

COWBOYS vs SEAHAWKS
My Pick: COWBOYS
Romo was another player that completely took me by surprise last week. This team has weapons on both sides of the ball, which allowed them to overcome visible flaws in week 1. And they did it impressively.

JETS vs STEELERS
My Pick: STEELERS
I went back and forth with this one. I almost went back on my statement to a good friend, and Jets fan (Tom Barnett), and picked NY. But I’m not going to bite on last week. I think the Steelers are fuming over last week, and will show up big in the “Steel City”.

TITANS vs CHARGERS
My Pick: CHARGERS
Who knows??!! I’ve been waiting for the RB Chris Johnson to return to form for years now. The Titans top receiver, Kenny Britt, returns this week. The Chargers have enough weapons to do far better than 5 FG’s. But niether is doing much of anything right now.

LIONS vs 49ERS
My Pick: 49ERS
This was a tough pick. One looked great last week against great competition. The other looked pitiful against lesser competition. But if both play up to their potential, you have a high-powered offense against a stout defense. Should be a good one.

BRONCOS vs FALCONS
My Pick: FALCONS
I’m going out on a limb with this pick. It sounds funny after Atlanta’s performance last week, but it’s true. Manning is definitely back, and he showed last week, that he can still play with opposing defenses like a brilliant puppet master. The way he toyed with Troy Polamalu and the Pittsburgh defense was disturbing. The key will be whose “D” can make big stops against the others highly-potent offense.

We’ll check back in on my results after the Monday night game. Send me your picks below.

;

Comments

Leave a Reply

