NFL PICKS: Week 5

Posted: October 7, 2012 in NFL FOOTBALL

20121007-142643.jpg

The second quarter of the season starts today, (actually Thursday’s game was the start) and the plot thickens, as old foes face off this week. This season has already been “worth its price of admission” with all that we’ve witnessed in just four weeks. Teams that were once “great” have plummeted to being sub-par. Teams who were once the stepping stones for the elite teams, now finding ways to trip up the teams we thought were the “cream of the crop”. And that’s why we love the NFL. Because it truly is an “Any Given Sunday” league. At any moment, your team could look great, and fuel you with at least another week of high hopes and expectations. Then, the next week, it all can come crashing down against the most unlikely opponent. Any given Sunday.

I am now 41-22 through Week 4, not counting the loss I suffered Thursday night. If you check the NFL expert’s picks , my record is tied for second place with the guys who get paid to do this stuff. And I’ve had some horrendous weeks. Let’s hope I get back on track this week. I went 10-5 last week, and I can’t complain at all. While some of my losses came in the final plays of the game, I also had some wins that came in the same fashion. Got to take the good with the bad. With the services of the replacement refs being terminated last week, it was weird how so many of the powerhouse offenses began to thrive again. This week, that bad taste should be fully washed out, and hopefully we are completely back on track, and can see the true identity of many of these teams.

Here are my Picks for Week 5:

CARDINALS VS RAMS
Winner: RAMS, 17-3. I expected Arizona to be the first of three undefeated teams to lose….but not to St. Louis.

DOLPHINS VS BENGALS
My Pick: BENGALS
If Reggie Bush is completely healthy, this one could flow either way.

PACKERS VS COLTS
My Pick: PACKERS
After I brutal, dramatic first quarter of games, the Pack will be on cruise control this week.

RAVENS VS CHIEFS
My Pick: RAVENS
My only fear is that just like last week, the Ravens have a way of looking not as good as they should, against teams that they should.

BROWNS VS GIANTS
My Pick: GIANTS
Remind me to NEVER put Hakeem Nicks or Ahmad Bradshaw on my Fantasy Football teams again. NEVER EVER EVER!!!

EAGLES VS STEELERS
My Pick: STEELERS
This team is a monster, coming off bye weeks. The Eagles are overly confident. Pittsburgh should be angry. Vick may be editing this game early.

FALCONS VS REDSKINS
My Pick: FALCONS
This one scares me. If you saw Atlanta’s performance against Carolina last week, this game seems perfect for the Falcons to catch their first “L” of the season.

SEAHAWKS VS PANTHERS
My Pick: SEAHAWKS
I wasn’t thinking on this one. I mouthed off with a friend and took Seattle, so I’ll stick with them here. Honestly, now that I’m thinking clearly, I think Carolina will have an impressive victory.

BEARS VS JAGUARS
My Pick: BEARS

TITANS VS VIKINGS
My Pick: VIKINGS

BRONCOS VS PATRIOTS
My Pick: BRONCOS
Remember when this match-up (Manning vs Brady) felt like a division game? It’ll be good to see again. This could go either way.

BILLS VS 49ERS
My Pick: 49ERS

CHARGERS VS SAINTS
My Pick: SAINTS
Record-breaking game. Coach Sean Payton in the building. They won’t start off 0-5.

JETS VS TEXANS
My Pick: TEXANS
5-0!!!

Send me your Picks below, and we’ll see how we made out on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

