20121014-122925.jpg

For the first time this season, I’ve had back to back weeks with a decent to good record. I went 9-4 last week, while taking a very high risk on the Broncos-Patriots game. My goal this week is to take some risks on my picks, but not to completely plummet to .500. My second goal is to win all 3 of my Fantasy Football games, but that’s for a different post.

I am now 50-26 on the season, and this week has started with 1 in the “L” column, courtesy of the Pittsburgh-Tennessee game. I think there needs to be an investigation into these Thursday Night Football games, but that’s also an argument for another day.

This week has some big match-ups that could go to either team. Some very good teams will face their first real test of the season this week, which should lead to great football being played.

Here are my Picks for Week 6:

TENNESSEE TITANS vs PITTSBURGH STEELERS
Winner: TITANS, 26-23

There has to be something going on with these TNF games. I think the shortened week is making teams vulnerable, having a negative effect on the defense, which makes it anyone’s game.

OAKLAND RAIDERS vs ATLANTA FALCONS
My Pick: FALCONS

I don’t expect ATL to be undefeated 10 weeks from now or anything, I just don’t expect them to lose to a team as dysfunctional as Oakland. But I also said that let week about Arizona.

CINCINNATI BENGALS vs CLEVELAND BROWNS
My Picks: BENGALS

I think. Lately, the Bengals have shown that they aren’t as good as we thought. And even though they are winless, the Browns aren’t out there getting slaughtered. They are losing with dignity. This could be their lucky week.

ST. LOUIS RAMS vs MIAMI DOLPHINS
My Pick: DOLPHINS

This is another match-up that could go either way. The Rams “D” was tough last week against a tough passing threat. Miami doesn’t have the same talent in the air, but has a stronger threat on the ground.

INDIANAPOLIS COLTS vs NEW YORK JETS
My Pick: JETS

While he looks very good, Andrew Luck is still a rookie. If the Jets defense can play with the same tenacity they did against Houston, they should be able to pull off the win.

DETROIT LIONS vs PHILADELPHIA EAGLES
My Pick: EAGLES

For their sake, I hope the Lions got their act together during the bye week. But I’m not counting on it. I’m not picking this team until they remember how to play “D”. Plus, Vick has a made a point to focus on ball handling this week, and I think it will help.

KANSAS CITY CHIEFS vs TAMPA BUCCANEERS
My Pick: BUCCANEERS

Another tough one. I’m giving my team the edge, but they are quickly losing my confidence this week.

DALLAS COWBOYS vs BALTIMORE RAVENS
My Pick: RAVENS

NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS vs SEATTLE SEAHAWKS
My Pick: PATRIOTS

BUFFALO BILLS vs ARIZONA CARDINALS
My Pick: CARDINALS

Just taking the “Home” team, because both have looked great at times, and horrible other times.

NEW YORK GIANTS vs SAN FRANCISCO 49ERS
My Pick: 49ERS

I picked the Niners in the Playoffs last year, and was shocked. I’m picking them again, because I still think they are the best team in the league, in spite of 1 loss.

MINNESOTA VIKINGS vs WASHINGTON REDSKINS
My Pick: VIKINGS

A team who can RUN and STOP THE RUN is a dangerous thing.

GREEN BAY PACKERS vs HOUSTON TEXANS
My Pick: TEXANS

Because I think they are one of the most COMPLETE teams in the league.

DENVER BRONCOS vs SAN DIEGO CHARGERS
My Pick: BRONCOS

IF….the Broncos can start playing football before the 2nd half, this could be a strong win for Denver.

Now that I’ve looked at each match-up game by game, I realize how bad my choices could look come Tuesday morning. Many of these games could go either way.

Check back on Tuesday to see WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THIS WEEK IN THE NFL.

Comments
  1. […] the week we just endured, I can’t even place a theme to summarize it all. As I stated in my weekly picks, this week was setup to go in any direction. And I was definitely right, because it did just that. […]

Leave a Reply

