Who should be considered the best team in the National Football League? Each week we go through great lengths to measure a team’s “greatness”, based mostly on record, and somewhat on performances. Each season, there seems to be a clear favorite, or at least 2-4, to who will make it to the Super Bowl. If you would’ve asked me through the first quarter of the season who I thought would make it into the big game this year, I would’ve given you Baltimore, Houston, or New England on the AFC side, and San Francisco, New York, or Green Bay on the NFC side.

Today, it would be hard for me to put my money on either team, but the defending Champs would probably have the edge. With that said, they have even shown some vulnerability this season, against lower ranked teams. Others have looked good. Baltimore being a team with one loss, but shows a strong ability to pull out wins. But given the hit their defense took this week, what are the expectations from here? Green Bay looked beyond impressive against the Texans last week, but they are also the same team that gave up a game-winning drive to Andrew Luck and the Indianapolis Colts the week before. Go back to my previous comment, and you have the Texans who were the #1 team in the league before unraveling last week. New England is credited with having the “best offense in the league”, but couldn’t hold a 13-pt lead in the 4th quarter to the Seattle Seahawks. You can blame that on defense, but the blame should be shared, because obviously, the offense couldn’t manage to put up any additional points itself. So basically, this season is anyone’s game.

Week 7 kicked off with another tough match-up, with two, tough, defensive-minded teams. And the rest of this week doesn’t get any easier. It’s getting harder to figure out which version of these teams will show up each week. So all you can do is look at the current form of each team, and decide which DIRECTION you think each team is heading, and go with it. I went 6-8, plummeting from the “high horse” I had been on for 2 consecutive weeks. I knew many of these games would be hard picks, but still expected to pull out at least 9 wins. I am now 56-34 on the season, and looking to have a rebound week in Week 7.

Here are my Picks for Week 7:

SEATTLE SEAHAWKS vs SAN FRANCISCO 49ERS
Winner: 49ERS, 13-6

TENNESSEE TITANS vs. BUFFALO BILLS
My Pick: BILLS
Both are suspect. Either could win. I just can’t rely on Tennessee being smart enough to keep running the ball after just one game.

WASHINGTON REDSKINS vs. NEW YORK GIANTS
My Pick: GIANTS
Another tough one. If RGIII continues to protect the ball, and then starts running all over the field, the Giants “D” could be in for a tough game. (And Washington beat them in both games last season, with lesser talent)

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS vs. TAMPA BAY BUCCANEERS
My Pick: SAINTS
I hate to pick against my team, but I think the Saints have figured themselves out on offense, they had a restful bye week, and Vilma will return with a bounty on Josh Freeman, Vincent Jackson, and Doug Martin’s heads. (Sorry, I had to go there)

DALLAS COWBOYS vs. CAROLINA PANTHERS
My Pick: COWBOYS
I can’t believe I’m picking them. Every time I do, they crash and burn.

BALTIMORE RAVENS vs. HOUSTON TEXANS
My Pick: TEXANS
I would’ve been excited about this game a week ago. It still can go either way, but now you have two high-powered offenses against two depleted defenses.

CLEVELAND BROWNS vs. INDIANAPOLIS COLTS
My Pick: BROWNS
I switched this pick several times. The Browns aren’t “there” yet, but they find a way to stay in every game. They have frazzled some of the best, so I think they can get to Andrew Luck.

GREEN BAY PACKERS vs. ST LOUIS RAMS
My Pick: PACKERS
I think Green Bay will have their act together from here on out

ARIZONA CARDINALS vs. MINNESOTA VIKINGS
My Pick: VIKINGS
Both have looked great at times. Both have looked soft at times. I think one of these teams is on the DECLINE.

NEW YORK JETS vs. NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS
My Pick: PATRIOTS
The Jets “D” actually looks better after the season-ending injury to Revis. But Coach Belichick always has something new on offense when they play against NY.

JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS vs. OAKLAND RAIDERS
My Pick: RAIDERS
I’m not picking Jacksonville to win anything, except the First Pick in the 2013 NFL Draft.

PITTSBURGH STEELERS vs. CINCINNATI BENGALS
My Pick: STEELERS
These two always play each other tough. The game is in Cincy. And Pittsburgh didn’t look good last week. But it’s not often the Steel City boys lose two in a row.

DETROIT LIONS vs. CHICAGO BEARS
My Pick: BEARS
Another game where you just never know. I’m sure Detroit fans want to believe they have righted the ship. I want to see at least one more week of positive play before I become a believer.

Check by in after this week’s games to see how I made out. Also, check in on Tuesday morning to see “WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL THIS WEEK”.

Leave a Reply

