Seasons like this 2012 season are what football fans dream of. Each week is an upset waiting to happen, with the perceived weaker team mustering up enough grit to pull off a winning effort. We have seen it happen every week.

 It’s a season of no real “favorites”, where anything can happen. Teams can score 40 points one week  against the league’s best defense, and then only score 3 points against the worst team in the league a week later. This week, the Atlanta Falcons, the only undefeated team in the league, are a 3-point underdog to the 3-3 Philadelphia Eagles. It shows the small margin of disparity between the top and bottom teams in the league. For fans of football, this is the first time in the last decade that we have had talent and potential spread out between so many teams.

With that said, the picks for Week 8 don’t come any easier. I’ve mentioned before how many of these teams have a “Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde” personality disorder going on right now. I went 11-2 last week, and I’m sitting at 67-36 for the season. If I was an NFL expert, I would be sitting in third place with my record, at half the salary cost.

Here are my Picks for Week 8:

TAMPA BAY BUCCANEERS vs. MINNESOTA VIKINGS

Winner: BUCCANEERS, 36-17

I try to be objective and realistic, but nothing hurts more than when you pick against your team, and then they play lights out when unexpected!

CAROLINA PANTHERS vs. CHICAGO BEARS

My Pick: BEARS

I don’t expect QB Cam Newton and Carolina to right the ship at Soldier Field of all places.

SAN  DIEGO CHARGERS vs. CLEVELAND BROWNS

My Pick: CHARGERS

I guarantee, just to prove me wrong, this will be the game Cleveland remembers how to play defense. I expected them to last week, and they played me.

SEATTLE SEAHAWKS vs. DETROIT LIONS

My Pick: SEAHAWKS

Seattle’s “D” has been stout all season, and I’m not trusting Detroit until they show me a consistent effort.

NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS vs. ST. LOUIS RAMS

My Pick: PATRIOTS

MIAMI DOLPHINS vs. NEW YORK JETS

My Pick: JETS

After their strong effort against New England, I would hope they would be able to maintain the same level of play against Miami

ATLANTA FALCONS vs. PHILADELPHIA EAGLES

My Pick: FALCONS

The Falcons are the underdog for this game, but I am not sure Philly has corrected its turnover woes just yet.

WASHINGTON REDSKINS vs. PITTSBURGH STEELERS

My Pick: STEELERS
As much as we talk about that Pittsburgh “D” getting old, I’m not buying that. They still have the ability to shut down any offense. But I’m not counting RGIII out against any team either.

JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS vs. GREEN BAY PACKERS

My Pick: PACKERS

Jacksonville can’t stop a runny nose. Aaron Rodgers could throw for 8 TD’s in this game, easily.

INDIANAPOLIS COLTS vs. TENNESSEE TITANS

My Pick: TITANS

I feel comfortable with my pick, as long as Tennessee continues to remember how valuable Chris Johnson is to their team. As soon as they stop running the ball, their chances of winning decrease drastically.

OAKLAND RAIDERS vs. KANSAS CITY CHIEFS

My Pick: CHIEFS

Who knows in this one. It will probably be a good, close game, simply because neither team is very good. I just have more faith in KC at home.

NEW YORK GIANTS vs. DALLAS COWBOYS

My Pick: GIANTS

The only game Dallas has impressed me this season was in Week 1 against New York. I think the Giants reach a point every season when a switch clicks “ON”, and they get on a roll. I think that time is now, and they are salivating at another shot at Dallas.

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS vs. DENVER BRONCOS

My Pick: BRONCOS

Denver is hard to beat, if they don’t spot the opposing team 21+ points and a lack-luster half of football.

SAN FRANCISCO 49ERS vs. ARIZONA CARDINALS

My Pick: 49ERS

Arizona has 99 problems, and the QB is #1. And really, neither guy is a good option.

Check back in Tuesday, to see What I Think I Learned from the NFL this week. Also, send me your Picks and comments BELOW.

Leave a Reply

