20121029-162351.jpg

This was a rough week. I felt good about my picks, but also knew that many of them were a 50-50 toss-up. I separated the games into two categories this week. We had games that were good match-ups, between teams with good potential; Atlanta-Philadelphia, New York-Dallas, Denver-Arizona, Pittsburgh-Washington. Then there were match-ups between two under-achieving teams, that could easily go either way; Cleveland-San Diego, Indianapolis-Tennessee, Oakland-Kansas City. Oddly enough, I picked all match-ups between good teams correctly. It was the teams who can’t decide when they want to show up for a game that got me!

So without any flush or build up, here is What I Think I Learned From the NFL This Week:

I’M DONE WITH SOME OF THESE PLAYERS AND TEAMS. I know we are only half way through the season, and I’m not saying that we all need to check out, but I am saying that I, personally, AM DONE with some of these teams and players who seem to under-perform week after week.

JOE FLACCO
I know they were on a bye this week, but it needs to be said. This guy cannot lead an offense to victory. Trust me, every season he seems to be that guy who is always auto-drafted onto my fantasy football team, and every season I cringe as he goes out on the field and looks like he’s never played a pro game.

MARK SANCHEZ….AND ADD IN THE REST OF THE JETS, WHILE YOU’RE AT IT
Many won’t agree with me on this one, but hear me out. The Jets look good against one team, New England. But that’s how rivalries are. No matter how bad the teams are, they always play well against the other. Look at UNC-Duke, or Washing ton-Dallas over the years. The years that NY has made it to the AFC Championship, they went through New England. Tebow is not the answer, but neither is Sanchez. This team is the model of undisciplined football.

TENNESSE TITANS
How many offenses in the NFL have two 100-yard receivers, and a 100-yard running back? And out of those teams you just named, how many can’t even score at least two TD’s a game? Exactly!

JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS
Do I need to say anything?

PHILIP RIVERS AND THE SAN DIEGO CHARGERS
Rivers is another QB that always ends up on my FFL teams, which always puts him under my radar. Last season we expected that Rivers was injured, but kept it to himself. What excuse are we giving him this year? He is just old, inaccurate, and his cockiness out-weighs his talent. Ladanian Tomlinson, Antonio Gates, Vincent Gates and when they had a decent defense just made him look better than he ever was. But let’s not put all the blame on him, his entire team disappears in games. The West divisions have been the weakest in the league for years, and that has what made their playoff dreams attainable.

KANSAS CITY CHIEFS, AS A WHOLE
(Read comments under “Jacksonville Jaguars”)

CARSON PALMER
His name still carries a lot of weight that his skill level can no longer maintain. His is just supposed to be better than the guy we see every week. He has good, young talent around him, but can’t seem to lead them. (Look at what Manning is doing in Denver)

DETROIT LIONS DEFENSE
I think we all got comfortable with their offense scoring 40+ points per game. Now that they haven’t been able to do that, they have to rely on that defense that we thought was on the rise. The only thing noteworthy their defense seems to do is getting undisciplined penalties and fines each week.

WASHINGTON REDSKINS OFFENSE, ESPECIALLY DEANGELO HALL
This defense can’t stop anybody. Hall is a “hot head” that picks the perfect time to get a bonehead penalty. He was a great DB during his Atlanta days, but those days are long gone. RGIII and Alfred Morris were great steps on the offensive side, now they just need to blow up and rebuild the “D”.

CAROLINA PANTHERS
They drafted QB Cam Newton last season, and then what? Is he supposed to run the ball on every running play, throw the ball to himself, and play CB on defense?

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS (WITHOUT COACH SEAN PAYTON)
Don’t get me wrong, the Saints are still very good on offense, but the absence of their Coach has shown in their lack of precision and detail. It’s good for the league though. If they were sitting at 5-2 right now, every Head Coach in the league should take a pay cut.

KEVIN KOLB, MATT CASSEL, MATT FLYNN…AND EVERY OTHER BACK-UP QB THAT HAD A FEW GOOD GAMES
I’ve said for years that we put too much value in back-up QB’s who play a few good games when the starting QB goes down. Don’t get me wrong, I think the best QB’s in the NFL are those who had to wait their turn, and learn under a veteran. (Peyton and Eli Manning are the exception) But I hate that stretch of 2-3 games each season, where a starter goes down, and his back-up looks great. Every football analyst goes wild, as if this back-up was some undiscovered gem, waiting to unleash. Some team gives him a huge contract the following season, and he completely flops. Each week is all about preparation. So in the case of last season, if I’m preparing for Aaron Rodgers, but I get Matt Flynn, the entire defensive scheme is thrown out of whack. And for Detroit, that’s why Flynn comes in and throws for 480 yards and 6 TD’s against your unassuming defense. And the same guy can’t secure a starting position on a rebuilding team the next season. These guys show up every year. Where are they now?

Leave a Reply

