Week 9 in the NFL and, on paper, it seems like it will be an easier week than I’ve had in a long time. But I also know these weeks are never as clear-cut as they seem.

I went 8-5 last week, which has me sitting at 75-41 for the season.

Here are my Picks for Week 9:

KANSAS CITY CHIEFS vs. SAN DIEGO CHARGERS
Winner: CHARGERS, 31-13

DENVER BRONCOS vs. CINCINNATI BENGALS
My Pick: BRONCOS
I’ve said it a million times this season already, when the Broncos don’t waste the first half, and allow the other team to have their way, they are tough to beat. They showed that last week, and I think they will continue the trend against an inconsistent Bengals team.

BALTIMORE RAVENS vs. CLEVELAND BROWNS
My Pick: RAVENS
I’m not jumping ship on Baltimore just yet, but Cleveland is tough at home, and put up a good challenge. My pick is in belief that Baltimore worked some offensive flaws out during their bye week. Hopefully, they also remembered that they need to run their offense through Ray Rice.

ARIZONA CARDINALS vs. GREEN BAY PACKERS
My Pick: PACKERS
Four weeks ago, I would’ve given Arizona a chance. But they have several issues with their QB, defense, and everything else. Green Bay has several injury problems, but as long as Aaron Rodgers suits up, their chances of winning go up by 70%.

CHICAGO BEARS vs. TENNESSEE TITANS
My Pick: BEARS
Chicago had a serious scare last week against Carolina, but it’s still a win. The best thing Tennessee has going for them is their recommitment to running back Chris Johnson. But they are also going against the toughest “D” in the league right now.

MIAMI DOLPHINS vs. INDIANAPOLIS COLTS
My Pick: DOLPHINS
Both teams have shown strong growth from last season, and have rookie QB’s who are playing well. But Miami is clicking everywhere on offense. Reggie Bush is officially rejuvenated in his new city, and I don’t see Indy stopping them right now.

CAROLINA PANTHERS vs. WASHINGTON REDSKINS
My Pick: REDSKINS
Football fans will be licking their chops for this match-up. You have Redskin fans against old Redskin fans. As for the on-field match-up, Cam Newton vs. Robert Griffin III. Comparing these two is understandable, but they are on two different ends of the maturity spectrum. RGIII has suffered defeat many times, but still holds the confidence of his teammates, which makes him a better leader.

DETROIT LIONS vs. JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS
My Pick: LIONS
Detroit got a good win last week, but this week they can only go backwards. A tough game or loss against Jacksonville only hurts their public view. But there’s no way I’m picking the Jaguars to win anything right now.

BUFFALO BILLS vs. HOUSTON TEXANS
My Pick: TEXANS
Even when the Texans don’t look good, they’re great. You can shut down their receivers and they run all over you. You can take away Andre Johnson and some other receivers burns you down the field. Their defense has looked tough this season, which doesn’t help a Bills offense that constantly deals with injury after injury.

MINNESOTA VIKINGS vs. SEATTLE VIKINGS
My Pick: VIKINGS
I don’t think Minnesota was exposed last week, but was more caught off guard at home, on a short week. I think they will keep riding Adrian Peterson, and will have the defense fired up and angry after the way they played against Tampa Bay.

TAMPA BAY BUCCANEERS vs. OAKLAND RAIDERS
My Pick: BUCCANEERS
I’m believing that Tampa has figured out some things on offense. Freeman has had 6 TD’s and no INT’s in his last two games, and runningback Doug Martin was phenomenal against a tough Vikings defense. Stepping into the “Black Hole” won’t be easy, but I’m not a believer in anything going on in Oakland right now.

PITTSBURGH STEELERS vs. NEW YORK GIANTS
My Pick: GIANTS
This is my “Game of the Week”. Two studs going head to head. New York just seems to show up in these big games. We always think it will be a hard fought game, and they seem to dominate the competition. I won’t go that far in this one, but I do believe they can will themselves to victory.

DALLAS COWBOYS vs. ATLANTA FALCONS
My Pick: FALCONS
This won’t be an easy game, and the Dallas “D” will be in full force. I just don’t trust Dallas’ offense right now. The dropped balls and carelessness will continue to haunt them. Atlanta was an underdog last week against Philly, but they are the most complete teams in the league.

PHILADELPHIA EAGLES vs. NEW ORLEANS SAINTS
My Pick: SAINTS
This is my risk of the week. You have a “D” that can’t stop anybody versus an offense who can’t hold on to the ball. How will this one turn out? The Saints are at home and can still be dangerous on offense. I am picking them to try to save their season in Week 9.

Check back in on Tuesday, and see WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL in Week 9.

Comments

Leave a Reply

