The first half of this season has been more unpredictable than I have ever seen before. I’ve tried to go in each week, and make picks with my head, based on where I think each team is in their level of play.

That way of thinking got me a 10-4 record last week, and an 85-45 record for the season.

For the second half of the season, I’m switching some things up. Instead of making picks with my head, I’m making them with my heart. Instead of going with what I think I know about these teams, I’m going with my emotions. And the primary motion that I’m using is “TRUST”. It’s no longer about how teams look on paper, but about how much I trust them to perform. And trust me, there are some teams and players, that I have already decided, the trust is broken, the damage is done, I have no faith.

Here are my Picks for Week 10:

INDIANAPOLIS COLTS vs. JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS

Winner: COLTS, 27-10 (My pick)

This Colts storyline is the highlight of this season so far. It’s good to see a team rebuild and it not become a six season process. Coaching (system) change, and a franchise player, and viola! The Jaguars, on the other hand, are one of those teams I just can’t trust.

NEW YORK GIANTS vs. CINCINNATI BENGALS

My Pick: GIANTS

The Giants were tripped up last week by another team with a Championship mentality. But I don’t foresee the same outcome against Cincy. Their defense picks and chooses when it wants to show up, and when it does, the offense checks out.

TENNESSEE TITANS vs. MIAMI DOLPHINS

My Pick: DOLPHINS

This is a matter of one team being more trust-worthy than the other. I had full faith that Miami was on the right track, until last week. But maybe I just didn’t realize how good their opponent was. 

DETROIT LIONS vs. MINNESOTA VIKINGS

My Pick: VIKINGS

One team has a winning streak going after a rough start, the other has a losing streak after a strong start. I am giving Minnesota my pick, because I haven’t completely lost all faith. If they lose this one, I’m jumping ship.

BUFFALO BILLS vs. NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS

My Pick: PATRIOTS

I’m not trusting these Bills to beat anyone in their division. With Miami stumbling last week, it’s time for New England to assume their role as the only contenders in the division.

ATLANTA FALCONS vs. NEW ORLEANS SAINTS

My Pick: FALCONS

This is one of the few games I’m worried about this week. The Saints are at home, against the top team in the league. It’s a division game, and New Orleans has a pretty easy road ahead. I’m trusting Atlanta knows the magnitude of this game. The Saints are much better than their record insists.

SAN DIEGO CHARGERS vs. TAMPA BAY BUCCANEERS

My Pick: BUCCANEERS

I always try to be objective, but I can’t any longer with the Buccs. They always surprise me when I expect the worst. I don’t believe the Chargers team we saw last week is really as good as it looked. They played a very bad team.

DENVER BRONCOS vs. CAROLINA PANTHERS

My Pick: BRONCOS

I trust that the Broncos now have a clear idea of the type of team they want to be. I trust Carolina will fall back into the same mistake-prone ways as before, in the face of a much better team.

OAKLAND RAIDERS vs. BALTIMORE RAVENS

My Pick: RAVENS

Oakland had issues before, and now have to deal with an ailing Darren McFadden. Baltimore is a much better team, even with their injury problems. I trust they realize that Pittsburgh is coming on strong right on their heels.

NEW YORK JETS vs. SEATTLE SEAHAWKS

My Pick: SEAHAWKS

The Seahawks are on the edge of success. They have beaten some good teams this year, but they have also lost to some weaker teams. They need to take care of this struggling Jets team.

DALLAS COWBOYS vs. PHILADELPHIA EAGLES

My Pick: COWBOYS

I don’t trust either of these teams. But Dallas at least does enough to either be leading or still competitive in the fourth quarter. Philly, on the other hand, has usually shot itself in the foot a few times, and has no chance to win the game.

ST. LOUIS RAMS vs. SAN FRANCISCO 49ERS

My Pick: 49ERS

San Fran is not in the clear just yet. They can’t falter against the bottom teams in their division.

HOUSTON TEXANS vs. CHICAGO BEARS

My Pick: TEXANS

This was one of the other hard picks. I saw what happened to Houston against a decent Packers defense, and Chicago is even better. Both teams have had times where they have looked like the best offense and/or defense in the league. Which will show up on Sunday night?

KANSAS CITY CHIEFS vs. PITTSBURGH STEELERS

My Pick: STEELERS

Last week, Kansas City committed 4 TO’s against the Chargers ‘D”. I’m trusting them to commit at least 8 against Pittsburgh. I won’t go that far, but I’m still expecting the worse.

Send me your Picks for Week 10. Check back in this Tuesday, and see WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL THIS WEEK.

Comments

Leave a Reply

