20121124-223017.jpg

I haven’t had a week like last week in a long time. I stuck with my system of grading each team on the level of trust I have for them, and it earned me a 15-1 record for the week.

My only flaw was thinking that a former starter in the NFL, like Jason Campbell (Bears) could lead a team better than a no-name at the professional level in Colin Kaepernick (49ers). What I ignored was every bit of sad, undisciplined play that Campbell showed us in Oakland, and in his Week 10 match up against the Houston Texans. I trusted him and he burned me. I could’ve been undefeated this week.

On to this week. After going 25-4-1 over the last two weeks, I am now 110-49-1 overall. It’s hard to follow up a near perfect week, but I’m on the right track after the Thanksgiving day games.

Here are my picks for Week 12:

HOUSTON TEXANS vs. DETROIT LIONS

Winner: TEXANS, 34-31 (My pick)

WASHINGTON REDSKINS vs. DALLAS COWBOYS
Winner: REDSKINS, 38-31 (My pick)

NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS vs. NEW YORK JETS
Winner: PATRIOTS, 49-19 (My pick)

MINNESOTA VIKINGS vs. CHICAGO BEARS
My Pick: VIKINGS
Cutler has been cleared to play, but I think the Bears have been exposed a little. Minnesota has a tough defense and strong offensive attack to make Chicago look as bad as they did last week.

OAKLAND RAIDERS vs. CINCINNATI BENGALS
My Pick: BENGALS
Their offense is too dangerous, and their defense is quietly coming into their own.

PITTSBURGH STEELERS vs. CLEVELAND BROWNS
My Pick: STEELERS
Cleveland hasn’t been an easy out all season, but I’m also not crazy. I don’t think they have the pieces to put together a good enough game to take out a powerhouse like Pittsburgh.

BUFFALO BILLS vs. INDIANAPOLIS COLTS
My Pick: COLTS
The Bills can be very dangerous, and the Colts took a brutal beating last week. I think they get back on track this week. Again, with Fred Jackson back, Buffalo will be a tough challenge, and could easily win, but I’m not counting on it.

DENVER BRONCOS vs. KANSAS CITY CHIEFS
My Pick: BRONCOS
Do I even have to say why? The Chiefs have a way of making opposing defenses look like the best defensive core in the history of the game.

SEATTLE SEAHAWKS vs. MIAMI DOLPHINS
My Pick: SEAHAWKS
Miami has been a train wreck since their bye week. I think the Seattle defense will make light work of this team.

ATLANTA FALCONS vs. TAMPA BAY BUCCANEERS
My Pick: BUCCANEERS
I said it a few weeks ago; I’m not picking against my team for the rest of the season. When I do, they surprise me. And then it hurts that I picked against them. Atlanta is the best team in the NFC, but it’s a division rival, and they are primed for the upset.

TENNESSEE TITANS vs. JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS
My Pick: TITANS
Jacksonville was very impressive last week, but we have seen this before. They gave the Vikings fits. They gave Green Bay a fit a few weeks ago. Then they will play a team who is just as bad as them, and completely stink up the stadium. If Tennessee remembers that they have to go through Chris Johnson to be successful, they will win easily.

BALTIMORE RAVENS vs. SAN DIEGO CHARGERS
My Pick: RAVENS
The Chargers are a team in shambles right now. Philip Rivers has times when he looks like he has never ran an NFL offense. I think against a tough defense like Baltimore he will revert back to the same silly, head-scratching mistakes he has made in every tough match-up this year.

SAN FRANCISCO 49ERS vs. NEW ORLEANS SAINTS
My Pick: 49ERS
I think the Niners play at a higher level after Monday night. Their offense looked unstoppable with their back-up QB, and could put a hurting on a struggling Saints “D”. But it won’t be easy either. The Saints aren’t as bad as their record looks.

ST. LOUIS RAMS vs. ARIZONA CARDINALS
My Pick: CARDINALS
I just don’t know about this one. Both teams are horrible on offense right now. Both have had times when their defense has looked legit. Who do you trust more? I don’t like the thought of Arizona starting Ryan Lindley though.

GREEN BAY PACKERS vs. NEW YORK GIANTS
My Pick: GIANTS
This is a tough pick, because New York has been a ticking time bomb as of late. But they have this crazy way of stepping up in these big games. They seem to reach a point where things just “click”, and they get on a roll. I think this may be one of those games.

CAROLINA PANTHERS vs. PHILADELPHIA EAGLES
My Pick: PANTHERS
This is about to be one of the worst MNF games we’ve seen in a while. Both teams are horrible right now. But the Eagles will be without Michael Vick and Lesean McCoy. Two huge blows to an already stagnant offense.

Send me your picks for Week 12 below. Also, check back Tuesday to see WHAT I THINK I LEARNED FROM THE NFL THIS WEEK.

Leave a Reply

