20121215-215329.jpg

It’s been a rough two weeks. I had all of my 50/50 games go the wrong way in Week 13, and I officially named last week “Upset Sunday”.

I am on a 3-week losing streak right now, and hoping to turn things around this week. But the match-ups don’t get any easier this week.

Will injuries control the week? Will a new leader come forward? If there’s one thing you can say about this season, it’s that there is no clear “favorite” in the league right now. If you consider the fact that the two teams who have been 1-2 in virtually every NFL Ranking from Week 1-13 both lost convincingly this week, who do you trust to be the front-runner in the league? Most rankings now have New England as the #1 team, but we have also witnessed them in a flawed state this season as well. Where do we go from here?

I am 129-62-1 on the season. I need somebody to show up and just be LEGIT this week. No playing down to the competition. No uncharacteristic play. Just show up, pay attention to the details, minimize the mistakes, and make a light days work look easy. Who will be this week’s stud?

Here are my Week 15 picks:

CINCINNATI BENGALS vs. PHILADELPHIA EAGLES
Winner: BENGALS, 34-13 (my pick)
I don’t think this replacement Philadelphia Eagles team is sneaking up on anyone any longer.

NEW YORK GIANTS vs. ATLANTA FALCONS
My Pick: GIANTS
This is primed to be one of those games where the Giants set out to prove a point. Atlanta could do the same, after a disappointing loss to Carolina last week, but I don’t think they will.

GREEN BAY PACKERS vs. CHICAGO BEARS
My Pick: PACKERS
SAT question: PACKERS ARE TO THE NFC NORTH AS PATRIOTS ARE TO THE AFC EAST. No matter how flawed Green Bay may be, they still own their division. They have a way of showing up big for these games.

WASHINGTON REDSKINS vs. CLEVELAND BROWNS
My Pick: REDSKINS
It’s hard to call without knowing the full status of QB RGIII. Plus,Cleveland’s “D” is tough at Home. But I think the rookie phenom will play, and will continue to take the league by storm.

MINNESOTA VIKINGS vs. ST. LOUIS RAMS
My Pick: VIKINGS
Another tough choice. But I think the Vikings will lead the way with their ridiculous running game.

JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS vs. MIAMI DOLPHINS
My Pick: DOLPHINS
Miami has squandered some good opportunities this season. They have a chance to face easy opposition this week. As I said before, you have to take care of the small stuff, and handle competition like this.

TAMPA BAY BUCCANEERS vs. NEW ORLEANS SAINTS
My Pick: BUCCANEERS
I’m not going against my team, but maybe I should. Every time I would pick against them, they would surprise me and win. But through the last three weeks I have picked them, and they are on a 3-game losing streak. Tampa went from playoff contenders to pretenders.

DENVER BRONCOS vs. BALTIMORE RAVENS
My Pick: BRONCOS
Regardless of record, these two teams re headed in separate directions right now. Denver has discovered themselves behind QB Peyton Manning, while Baltimore is struggling to survive. Last week versus Washington, Baltimore showed that even when Joe Flacco Is rolling, they have several areas that need improvement.

INDIANAPOLIS COLTS vs. HOUSTON TEXANS
My Pick: TEXANS
This is 1 out of 2 “Games of the Week” for me. What a huge statement Indy could make in Houston this week. And Houston needs to prove something after the way they were handled last week.

SEATTLE SEAHAWKS vs. BUFFALO BILLS
My Pick: SEAHAWKS
This team is rolling on both sides of the ball right now. I expect them to continue this week, but also recognize that they also usually have a tough game when we get high on them.

DETROIT LIONS vs. ARIZONA CARDINALS
My Pick: LIONS
Detroit has just found ways to lose tough games this season. It’s almost like they are cursed. If there’s something that can and will go wrong a the end of a game, it will for them. I think the can at least trump a struggling team like Arizona.

CAROLINA PANTHERS vs. SAN DIEGO CHARGERS
My Pick: CHARGERS
Both teams experienced big wins last week, that have been the opposite of their turmoil filled seasons. Either could win this one. I was tempted to just flip avoid on this one.

PITTSBURGH STEELERS vs. DALLAS COWBOYS
My Pick: STEELERS
Last week was a product of a rusty, not 100%, Ben Roethlisberger. This is a big game for both teams, but I’m counting on the Steel City defense to be the difference maker.

KANSAS CITY CHIEFS vs. OAKLAND RAIDERS
My Pick: RAIDERS
This is another one that I could just flip a coin for. I switched picks several times. I’m just taking the Home team here.

SAN FRANCISCO 49ERS vs. NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS
My Pick: PATRIOTS
Honestly, if Alex Smith was starting for San Fran, I would pick them to win. I don’t think Kaepernick is moving the offense any better than Smith could, and he hasn’t looked impressive since his first start.

NEW YORK JETS vs. TENNESSEE TITANS
My Pick: TITANS
I’m just not a believer in anything the Jets have going on right now. Tennessee isn’t any better, but I believe they can rely on Chris Johnson and win in their own territory.

Send me your picks below. Also, check back in on Tuesday to see What I Think I Learned From the NFL This Week.

Leave a Reply

